A = Autoplay

For all other problems or comments with Solitaire 3D.
Post Reply
tmno2
Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 04, 2013
Location: Sydney. Australia

A = Autoplay

Post by tmno2 »

A = Autoplay

Three positions
Autoplay Off
Autoplay Normal
Autoplay Maximum

The Autoplay switch allows the player to let the game play automatically those available cards which follow in natural sequence to the scoring decks.

The three switches optioned above when used, when “Off” allow the play to be fully controlled by the player, when “ Normal” allow the player to initiate the Autoplay sequence by tapping the start card, or when “ Maximum” is selected the Autoplay sequence plays all the available cards, when a starter card is uncovered, till none are left available to play, This last option is evidenced by the play time difference between those players high up on the leaderboard and the lesser experienced players, further down the listings, who may perhaps be at loss as to “ How on earth can they do that? ”

Well troops, that is “How” those times are achieved, plus a little bit of skill as well.

So go for it with this little bit of greater awareness at your fingure tips.

Aidan may be better able to explain the options, but I think I covered it reasonably well.

tmno2
Terry

SunnyCorner
Posts: 163
Joined: Nov 17, 2013

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by SunnyCorner »

But where are the switches? It just says autoplay options are not available for this game.
Regards. Ice

User avatar
Aidan
Posts: 657
Joined: Jan 17, 2009

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by Aidan »

It depends on the Solitaire in question. For some games, autoplay does not make sense or makes things too easy, and so is not available.
Aidan
GrassGames.com

SunnyCorner
Posts: 163
Joined: Nov 17, 2013

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by SunnyCorner »

Thanks for the response but I get the same message for Gaps - Pyramid - Scorpion - TriPeaks and Twenty!
Regards. Ice

tmno2
Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 04, 2013
Location: Sydney. Australia

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by tmno2 »

Thanks Aidan,

Try Intelligence, and see the difference between the Leaders and the last.

tmno2
Terry

SunnyCorner
Posts: 163
Joined: Nov 17, 2013

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by SunnyCorner »

I've discovered part of the problem - I was using a free version and couldn't get the full range of Solitaire games. I've now paid for a version and I can see what you mean. However, the autoplay is not available in the GAPS game but those huge discrepancies are there too. The fastest times (without autoplay available) seem impossible to achieve. Could it have been hacked?
Regards. Ice

tmno2
Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 04, 2013
Location: Sydney. Australia

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by tmno2 »

Hi SunnyCorner

I personally think the leaderboard would be fairly difficult to hack, the only way I think anyone could cheat in this fashion would be to retain their device on a specific score by setting the time and date to one that fits the period in which the score is to be lodged.

Check out the annual listings and see if the high scores are duplicated in different periods of the year.

If the same high score shows up on different dates in different periods, then hacking is a possibility, but really, would it be worth the trouble?

My experience leads me to think that there are some pretty good mathematicians playing some of these games, and I “ take my hat off “ to their evident skills.

Consistent practice in playing a particular game certainly leads to higher skills, but some people do have a little more ability than others in particular skills.

So I think if you checked the “ Annual” scores it would indicate the progressive improvement in a particular player’s skills.

I’ll leave it to Aidan, the developer to expand further, if necessary.

tmno2
Terry

Edited:
By annual I mean “ Year”
tmno2

SunnyCorner
Posts: 163
Joined: Nov 17, 2013

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by SunnyCorner »

I wasn't suggesting the leaderboard could be hacked. The app for all solitaire games must be very similar in construction so amending the autoplay part would be relatively simple I'm guessing.
Regards. Ice

User avatar
Aidan
Posts: 657
Joined: Jan 17, 2009

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by Aidan »

There are no autoplay feature in those games you mention by design. E.g. how exactly do you want autoplay to be implemented in Gaps? Any autoplay there and the computer would basically play the game for you. In some of the other solitaires (e.g. Twenty) the choices you make are important and for that reason there is no autoplay in those games.
Aidan
GrassGames.com

SunnyCorner
Posts: 163
Joined: Nov 17, 2013

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by SunnyCorner »

I wasn't suggesting that you implement auto-play Aidan. I was simply questioning the speed/times that some players seem to be consistently achieving which was where the thread began. The particular game was/is "intelligence" and the explanation was the use of autoplay and the comment, "Well troops, that is “How” those times are achieved, plus a little bit of skill as well."
Well without autoplay how are they being achieved?
Regards. Ice

User avatar
Aidan
Posts: 657
Joined: Jan 17, 2009

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by Aidan »

I was responding to your earlier post, sorry. I've no idea about the Intelligence scores - maybe others have input.
Aidan
GrassGames.com

tmno2
Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 04, 2013
Location: Sydney. Australia

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by tmno2 »

Aidan,
I think Ice is suggesting that the Autoplay code sequence can be split out of the “ AutoPlay included” games and inserted into another game where it is not included, or placing a “CALL” to the AUTOPLAY code with a “true” / false” HACK, thus allowing the “ claimed” impossible scores.

Ice

Having checked out GAPS, in the Quick mode, and in the three leaderboard period listings, it is fairly clear to me that the “ time spread “ of the 20 leaders when considered together with the different devices used, as well as the frequent changes between the leaders’ names, that the scores achieved are due to skills accrued by the players once they have identified the best starter placements and then the playing sequence necessary to achieve the desired outcome.
These skills are achievable by honing the necessary memory, sight and suit matching skills over a reasonable playing period.
Additionally the AUTOPLAY sequence as set up in “Intelligence” would not fit the requirements of GAPS, as GAPS’ required card play and finish are completely different.
My opinion “ achieved skills, definitely not hacking!”
tmno2
Terry

SunnyCorner
Posts: 163
Joined: Nov 17, 2013

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by SunnyCorner »

Thanks Terry - that was exactly what I was suggesting. Its also clear to me now that the free game(s) have different players in them. However, there is one guy playing the free version of GAPS who is routinely scoring sub 1:20 seconds and occupied the top 1/2/3/4/5 position on the leaderboard every week. I can't remember his name and I can't now check as the free version is deleted - I just don't believe its possible to move the cards as quick as that.
Regards. Ice

tmno2
Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 04, 2013
Location: Sydney. Australia

Re: A = Autoplay

Post by tmno2 »

Ice
Hi again

Remember with cards there is also a major effect on the outcome of your play called “LUCK”. It starts with the “deal” and continues with the choice of each of the cards you play next.

This is the reason casinos have a greater winning percentage than any average punter, and more so with a consistent punter.

A jackpot may fall to you by chance, but keep playing, and “it” will be lost together with everything else you own.

At this time the current overall leader in GAPS is Chris, a Canadian with a winning time of “1:09.5”. So I reckon he must have had a good deal, plus lots of luck, plus a fair bit of skill.

Chris appears only once in each of the time classes of the leaderboard, so either, he is or must be a very lucky beginner perhaps even with a few mathematical skills as well. I wonder how many times he had to play the tutorial “assisted” game to achieve that on his first try. At least he would have had a week to practice, perhaps even a month, but “ WOW”, that will take some beating.

Gives you something to aim for, hey?

Congratulations CHRIS, should buy a lottery ticket while you’re at it.

tmno2
Terry

Edited: 19/08/19 , 17:45 AEST.
Correction to above, “Chris” is mentioned in GAPS “year” scores on January 11th, with a time of 1:27.7, so he did have some reasonable playing experience under his belt, when achieving the outstanding score identified above.

So practice plus luck has won out, leading to support my opinion that a “hack” is a most unlikely way to achieve glory in this game.

tmno2
Terry

Post Reply