GrassGames

Games for Macs, PCs and iPhones.
It is currently Apr 17, 2014

All times are UTC - 3 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Frozen
PostPosted: Feb 07, 2011 
Offline
6 Stars

Joined: Nov 14, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Playing BOB from USA and have been experiencing freeze after freeze. Twice (once last night and once this afternoon) he had to concede a game because I had enough points to peg out but couldn't finish the game. Several other games had to be be abandoned earlier on. The resume feature does not work on freezes. We tried. Haven't had trouble connecting with Carla (sweetie*) or Pegs. It can't be a Canada /US border thing. Or can it?

Brian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frozen
PostPosted: Feb 08, 2011 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 582
Do you mean freeze as in the computer hangs and you can do nothing (have to restart your machine or force quit the game), or freeze as in you are waiting around in the network game but nothing is happening, but the menus etc. are working ok?

Any more specific details or patterns noticed pre the freeze would help.

_________________
Aidan
GrassGames.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frozen
PostPosted: Feb 08, 2011 
Offline
6 Stars

Joined: Nov 14, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Aidan,

It seems to freeze most often when I am waiting for my opponent to count his hand. Meanwhile he is waiting for me to play my last card. Fortunately the CHAT feature still works so you can decide that it is a computer freeze and not just your opponent going for a slash. Later I found that the resume works if you SHUT DOWN your computer (just press and hold the power button) and then follow the steps you would use to start any normal network game. I know that some people are averse to shutting down this way but it won't in any way hurt your computer if you do so. Press YES when it asks if you want to resume the game. You will have to play the previous hand over. Play it in the same order as you did before unless you want to lose network friends.

Brian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frozen
PostPosted: Feb 08, 2011 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 582
"It seems to freeze most often when I am waiting for my opponent to count his hand. Meanwhile he is waiting for me to play my last card." - this is helpful for investigating the problem, thanks.

You shouldn't have to power down the computer. If both just quit the game, the resume option should be there (for at least one player) then next time. Failing that, both could try using Command+Q to quit the game. Or try force quitting it from the dock (right click the icon) if running in windowed mode. Powering down the computer is a bit drastic.

Its not a computer freeze then (as you can still chat) but a internal synchronization problem in the game, possibly due to messages being lost across the network.

_________________
Aidan
GrassGames.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frozen
PostPosted: Feb 08, 2011 
Offline
6 Stars

Joined: Nov 14, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
We did try both quitting the game and then resuming but that didn't seem to work. Never thought of trying the force quit. Obviously better and faster than shutting down the computer (if it works.)

Brian


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 3 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group